Swan Inn, Tytherington, Wotton under Edge

Opening times

Swan Inn is currently CLOSED as the present time falls outside of the opening hours below

11 reviews posted and 1 photo posted for this pub

12:00 PM
11:00 PM
12:00 PM
11:00 PM
12:00 PM
11:00 PM
12:00 PM
11:00 PM
12:00 PM
11:00 PM
12:00 PM
11:00 PM
12:00 PM
10:00 PM
Bank Holidays
Sunday Hours


Find other open pubs near Swan Inn, Tytherington, Wotton under Edge

Friday 7th August 2020 1:15 am


Place Details

Share this page
Name Address and postcode Type
Swan Inn Duck St, Tytherington, Wotton under Edge GL12 8QB Pub
Phone Official website Opening hours
01454 412 380 No website listed yet CLOSED now
"Fine Ales and Dining - The Swan serves a delicious range of meals, salads and light bites. ..." (Continues) - Owner quote
Food: Gastropub, Menu: Online, Plays music: Light, Wifi: Yes, Disabled access: Yes, Beer garden: Yes, Real ales: Yes, Credit cards: Yes, TV screens: Yes

Owner quote

Owner description of Swan Inn


"Fine Ales and Dining - The Swan serves a delicious range of meals, salads and light bites. We're trying to create a traditional oasis in the modern world, We’ll be taking our time to find local suppliers for the “Great British" menu with a modern twist - hoping to spark nostalgia and memories of childhood."




Reviews of Swan Inn

        2.7 stars out of 5
        11 reviews


  • 1 star reviewWent for a meal with small group of friends on a Saturday night, not very busy that alone should have raised alarms. Sat down at 8pm had basic starters but took until 9.15pm for it to arrive.9.45pm main meal began to arrive in dribs and drabs ie meat arrived but no veg for about 10-15 mins and I am not joking, one couple had finished their meal before we had had all our meal put on the table. Asked for drinks as food began to be served but after 20 mins went to bar to get for ourselves and mentioned how poor service was but was told by an arrogant female member of staff in early 20`s it wasn`t their fault as "manager was in away" what!!!. Would not go back there even if food was free but feel free to experience the pub from hell.PS would give zero rating if was possible
    Gary Jones Reviewed 14th August 2013 9:27 PM
  • 4 star reviewnot quite sure why there are so many bad reviews, went for lunch today with my mum and my nan and thought the food and the service was lovly. good value for money aswell and recieved a free drink with the lunch deal we had.
    sam king Reviewed 14th June 2013 3:54 PM
  • 1 star reviewThere used to be a varied and normal menu at the Swan - but not anymore - We went last night - had one drink and left after looking at the very disapointing expensive weird menu - We went somewhere else and had a brilliant meal. One star for having a menu.
    Sandy Reviewed 11th May 2013 1:44 PM
  • 5 star reviewDear Lesley We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us at The Swan. Kim and I are both disappointed with this and would like the opportunity to improve your impression of us. We do not run large discounts such as 2 for £10 or the likes as we feel it is counter productive to pubs survival chances in the current financial climate and the ever increasing profitability of groups such a Mitchels & Butlers and TGI Fridays prove that this theory can work. Instead we charge all our items under a fair pricing policy. We take the cost of the dish, multiply it by the profit percentage we work to across all our meals and then add on the VAT. We charge this to the penny and do not round up or round down to make a menu appear right. We do run small offers for our loyal clientèle with vouchers given out on set days and events as well as our Facebook page subscribers getting exclusive deals. We also run a cheaper menu for our over 60's guests who may have smaller appetites and would like smaller portions. We understand your comments regarding the numerous recent changes of management at The Swan. We can confirm that it is our intention to stay here for as long as possible and are integrating ourselves into the local community. We will do our upmost to increase standards in food and service until they exceed our guest expectations 100% of the time. I would love the opportunity to discuss this with you further so please call me on 01454 412380. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
    Rob Mann (Manager) Reviewed 1st December 2012 3:25 PM
  • 1 star reviewI wouldnt go there if it was free again...food awful,prices to match? there has been so many changes over the past two years with Management,no-one is committed to make this pub great as it was years ago; its empty most of the time: a few miles away, good pubs/good food/excellent Landlords trying to make their pubs work: They wont be there for long, seen 5 changes in the past two years:This Brewery wants to wake-up and smell the coffee...two for one everywhere,?good prices: Nothing like that here? nearly £7 a glass of cheap wine: Its the Management that make a pub!!!! and no-one there has for the past two years been interested in that aim: No atmosphere,whatsoever, you are made to feel unwelcome...unnoticed? why would you go back??we wont:
    Lesley Gibbs Reviewed 19th November 2012 5:16 PM
  • 1 star reviewI visited this pub after being told the food was brilliant and i looked forward to a Sunday lunch this last weekend [Oct 28 2012]. It was not long before things started to go downhill, firstly the place was seriously understaffed so had to wait quite a while after being shown to our table for someone to come and take orders for drinks, when my coffee finally came it was not a latte as ordered and was luke warm. We were then informed that the only one dish we came for was off the menu because a party [prebooked] has eaten all the roast beef !!!! Next came our long awaited starters, my comapnion's food was over cooked [chicken Goujons] and mine was completely forgotten i had ordered the roasted tomato on bruchetta, when the order finally made it to my table i was presented with soggy bread with what seamed to be topped with cold chopped tomatos drowned balsamic with a drenching of oil [ugh]. After waiting an extraordinary length of time we were presented with our mains, i wished now looking back i had just got up and left but i endured the meal, i had the roast turkey [which was not meat calved off the bone but processed and reformed] and it did not taste like turkey, no stuffing and the mishmash of winter veg did nothing to aid my decreasing appetite, my partner it seemed had made a wiser choice by going for the hunter's chicken, that was until he bit into it and found it was well and truly dried out and overdone, although he did say the rustic chips were nice [i guess chipping a potato and frying it was about the limit to this cook, the proprietor made reference to only having one chef as one was away at another venue ??? The person that cooked my meal was NOT a chef made too many basic mistakes, as i indeed did by visiting this pub, the owner knocked off the bill the over cooked goujon starter so it was at least something, hopefully you will read this before you part with any money!!!!
    Ms M Shannon Reviewed 2nd November 2012 4:08 PM
  • 1 star reviewWhat has happened to the Swan - menu sooo changed and soooo much smaller even though specials board on offer. Last year oh la la what great food - roast pork - wild boar sausages and a Chef who took care of the needs of my friend who is a veggie. New people in place - young couple behind bar were very friendly but the food - what a let down. White bail overcooked/dried out - sausages and small also standard poor - Swan burger not pleasant and bun dry/burnt seemed to have come from a mircowave - Omlette burnt - cappuicino coffees cold and had cocoa - certainly not chocolate sprinkled on them yuk!!! Irish coffee cold too. Locals good fun but food a real let down!!! Will we go there again ??????? only if our friends who live locally tell us the standard has returned to it's former glory
    Sue Griffin Reviewed 26th October 2012 11:23 AM
  • 5 star reviewFour of us visited the Swan on Wed evening 24.11.2011. A warm welcome and a warm log fire. The ladies had lamb shank, dauphin potatoes, and a good assortment of freshly cooked veg. We chaps had huge portions of steak and kidney pie, really good chunky chips and plenty of veg. All of it was delicious and very well presented. We washed it down washed with a bottle of house red. The price was reasonable and we will visit again soon. Highly recommended.
    Christine and Paul Reviewed 25th November 2011 6:45 PM
  • 5 star reviewI agree with you Anne, I really dont understand the first review, I visited with my husband on Friday night, the staff were extremely helpful as i have coeliac disease so was extremely impressed when I was offered a wide range of gluten free options and they even offered me complimentary gluten free bread & oils to start. My husband also had the curry which he said was the best he's tasted! I had the belly pork which was really tasty & considering the size of the portions we recieved it was all very reaonably priced. We will be regular visitors from now on.
    Sarah Bennett Reviewed 22nd November 2011 2:43 PM
  • 5 star reviewFunny looking at the last review because the pub was closed at the time and had been for a few weeks due to refurbishment and new management! The Swan reopened on Tuesday last week (25th October) and I visited with my husband on the wednesday for food. We were very impressed the pub has been nicely refurbished to make it more modern but this has been done quite sympathetically so it retains it's character. We really enjoyed the food and wine. I had roast guinea fowl and my husband had a fantastic curry with chutneys and homemade beer bread. The pub was buzzing with people and had a great atmousphere. We will definately visit again!
    Anne Rawlings Reviewed 31st October 2011 11:17 PM
  • 1 star reviewFar too expensive,rubbish food: Miserable,unhelpful staff; Needs new landlord/and new menu,and refit
    Mary Boarder Reviewed 16th October 2011 12:34 PM

Rating history and distribution

Rating history and distribution



Add a review




Photos of Swan Inn


  • Swan Inn Pub in Tytherington, Wotton under Edge

Add a photo

Parking near

Rock street, Rock Street, Thornbury, BS35 2BA (2.27 miles)

St Mary street, St Mary Street, Thornbury, BS35 2AB (2.34 miles)

Castle Court (SS), Thornbury, BS35 2BQ (2.38 miles)

Castle Court (LS), Thornbury, BS35 2BQ (2.38 miles)

Park Road, Park Road, Thornbury, BS35 1JS (2.42 miles)

Train stations near

Yate (4.03 miles)

Patchway (5.88 miles)

Bradley Lane (6.11 miles)

Bristol Parkway (6.11 miles)

Pilning (6.92 miles)

ATM cash points near

These cash machines are near to Swan Inn Pub


  • TESCO, MIDLAND WAY, THORNBURY by Royal Bank of Scotland

    2 - FREE to use and 2.22 miles away


    1 - £1.65 to use and 2.39 miles away

  • Thornbury Avon, 5 High Street, THORNBURY by Lloyds TSB

    1 - FREE to use and 2.40 miles away


    1 - FREE to use and 2.40 miles away

  • NATWEST BANK, 16 THE PLAIN, THORNBURY by National Westminster/NatWest

    2 - FREE to use and 2.45 miles away

  • THE FOX, BROAD LANE, BRISTOL by Notemachine

    1 - £1.75 to use and 3.42 miles away


Near places

More pubs close to Tytherington, Wotton under Edge